When you hide the Word in your heart ~ 2

word

“Hullo Sweetie, how are you?” asked my sister over the phone, her voice was so full of concernShe was worried about how I was holding up after the loss of my handbag. She knew all that I carry in around in it, she was fully aware that a very important part of me was gone.

“I am very well, thank you. How about you?”  I replied, sincerely.

She confesses that she was shocked, surprised and relieved. She expected me to be low, sad and without hope. The tone of my voice was such a great encouragement to her. I sounded strong, I was joyful, if she did not know the secret to my joy, she would have been utterly confused.

And on to my secret; I had the Word of God hidden in my heart. When my bag was snatched, I wailed, but as I did, I remembered Hebrews 1:14 ~ “Are not all angels ministering spirits sent to serve those who will inherit salvation?” I immediately sent them out to locate my bag and return it to me. I haven’t lost faith, I know very soon we shall be reunited 😀

But then, I was still worked up, I was confused, I did not know what to do. I did not know what direction to take, and then I was reminded of Philippians 4:7 ~ “And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” I spoke the peace of God upon my life. I prayed that my heart is securely guarded by it. It worked 🙂 The panic disappeared, I regained my thinking. I immediately remembered a friend that would help me, I borrowed a phone and contacted him. I also remembered there was an extra key for my house somewhere, generally my heart was ruled by peace.

Later on in the night, I could not sleep, I was scared, “What if the guy followed me home?” “What if he uses that very key to get in while I am asleep?” I was suspicious of every little sound, and then the Lord reminded me of Isaiah 41:10 ~ “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.” It was enough that the Lord was with me. The Lord would help me. So after there, with all the Word hidden in my heart, I wrote some more devotions, and then slept off like a baby.

The next morning I could hear the devil mocking and laughing at me 😦 and then I knocked him down with Micah 7:8 ~ “Do not gloat over me, my enemy! Though I have fallen, I will rise. Though I sit in darkness, the LORD will be my light.”  I gave him no chance to steal my joy, for the joy of the Lord if my strength. I knew I would need this strength in the days to come.

This experience of losing my bag, and yet being able to keep my head on the shoulders is a great lesson to always hide the Word of God in one’s heart!

Leave a Reply

