When you hide the Word in your heart ~ 3

wordheart

If there is a Word I hid in my heart, it is Malachi 3:10-11 ~ Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the Lord Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that there will not be room enough to store it. I will prevent pests from devouring your crops, and the vines in your fields will not drop their fruit before it is ripe,” says the Lord Almighty, especially the emphasized part. I have learnt and witnessed that there is a special protection cover that tithe gives over everything of the ‘tither’.

I am laughing even as I type this 😀 See, I had so many financial obligations so I did not pay my most recent tithe (shame on me!) Now, each time this Word came to remembrance, I could not get my mouth to say it out because I knew I was a defaulter. There was no way I was going to pin God about preventing pests from devouring my crops yet I had not met my side of the bargain. So I steered clear of claiming that promise.

I however knew Lamentations 3:22-23 ~ Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for His compassions never fail.  They are new every morning I knew His mercies for me were new for that particular day. I also remembered Psalm 103:10 ~ “He does not treat us as our sins deserve or repay us according to our iniquities” So I claimed all the other promises as the peace of God continued to rule my heart.

Moral of story: when you meet your obligations in this Father-child relationship with God, you can boldly stand and wait on Him to play His part!

 

Leave a Reply

