Me, my Ms. iPhone and the people I care about

The most uninteresting thing about the smart phone is it disconnects you from the people that are physically with you and attempts at connecting you with those farthest from you, many of whom you haven’t even met and may never meet this side of eternity.

Hmmmmmmmm… wondering how I should attack this one.

Let me start with a confession: sometimes it feels like ‘people’ distract us (Ms. iPhone and I) when going about something very ‘important’. The main activity that we engage in is WhatsApp, really. So when a call comes in the middle of an interesting chat, it feels like a distraction. Now, that said, I don’t know how to write about this without shooting myself in the foot…

But anyway, I gotta say something. I think many of my relationships have severely suffered the pangs of me having a smart phone; and I must note that I am not proud of that at any one point. I love my phone so much, and these two years of living alone have not made anything better. I usually give the excuse that my phone is all I got, when I am back home, all doors shut, it is just me that little pretty Ms. iPhone. It is through her that I can keep ‘unlonely’, it is through her that I can get to all those that I care about…if only this was true!

The most uninteresting thing about the smart phone is it disconnects you from the people that are physically with you and attempts at connecting you with those farthest from you, many of whom you haven’t even met and may never meet this side of eternity. My babies have not been spared as well. See, I do not live with them, and when they come around, one would think I would forget all about the phone, and be present with my guests, but that’s not what it is unfortunately. It is always them and then some of the phone, then them again and then some more phone. This smart phone addiction in my life is real, it is something that I need to break seriously. Good thing for me, I accept that I am addicted, and they say the first step to getting better is to accept that you have a problem… I will recover soon.

This gruesome addiction hasn’t spared my friends either. See, with my friends, we are always in touch online, but there is when you miss them and then you plan to meet. Weird as it may sound, even when we meet, we still be on the phones, I mean, who created these things? What was their intention? You are with someone right there, but you would rather share a joke with them on WhatsApp than cracking it live so you laugh about it out loud.

However, I must note that smart phones are not harmful through and through. I attribute the success of many events to our online meetings. This day and age, time flies by so fast, everyone is busy with their life, it is so hard to get them seated for a two-hour meeting outside their working hours. And as such, we have resorted to online meetings. These are mostly done on WhatsApp, we create groups and add whoever is party to the event, and the beauty of them is that the discussions and deliberations go on 24-hours.

That said, I love my iPhone, I am super addicted to it, so until I recover, I will do all I can to ensure it doesn’t come in-between me and the people I love dearly, especially my babies… their time will always be theirs alone. So help me God.

Leave a Reply

