My favorite comfort food

”Comfort food is food that provides a nostalgic or sentimental value to someone, and may be characterized by its high caloric nature, high carbohydrate level, or simple preparation” ~ Wikipedia

“Comfort food! What on earth is that?”

That was my immediate reaction the moment I saw this challenge. Truth be told, I had not heard of such a term before, and here I was, I was supposed to tell the world what my comfort food is. Well, you guessed right, I ran to Google, don’t we all in such times? And here is what I found, ”Comfort food is food that provides a nostalgic or sentimental value to someone, and may be characterized by its high caloric nature, high carbohydrate level, or simple preparation” ~ Wikipedia

I read that definition over and over again, and the more I did, I realized that I do not have a comfort food. And no, it is not weird, it is normal when you come from this side of the world. See, growing up, I we did not have so much luxury at our disposal. So, whatever was prepared for a meal is what you ate, and because most of the time we ate what Mother dearest could afford, most foods, that probably could have been my comfort foods if u consider the nostalgic and sentimental bits of the definition, were monotonous and I started detesting them.

However, if I am to go by the definition in my head, my favorite comfort foods would be chocolate, and this should be good quality chocolate and cereal with milk. Usually when I am stressed I buy all the above, go lock myself up and feast.

Yea, maybe someday I will get a real comfort food, but for now, I am comfortable with or without food.

2 thoughts on “My favorite comfort food

Leave a Reply

