Motherhood, a Job I would do any day

If a child turns out ‘bad’, it is the mother’s fault whereas if they turn out ‘good’, then the father did a great job. This even King Solomon, the wisest man saw it and wrote, “A wise son brings joy to his father, but a foolish son brings grief to his mother.” ~ Proverbs 10:1.

I can see someone rolling her eyes at my choice…hehehehehe… go slow baby girl, if you ever get to where I am, you will fully understand why I would choose this over every other job.

Well, right now I am a part time mother and it ain’t cool at all. See, when I left my marriage, I did not move with my babies, so I only see them every once in a while, and during their holidays. I miss them terribly!

So, if chance presents itself and I can choose a job for me, fulltime motherhood to Adonai, Annabelle and Asher would be it. Firstly, I would want to pay up for these two years that I have not been fully present in their lives. And then, I would want to ensure I raise up men of valor and a virtuous woman. It does not matter how The Women emancipation movement puts it, it is the role of a woman, the mother, to raise up children.

If a child turns out ‘bad’, it is the mother’s fault whereas if they turn out ‘good’, then the father did a great job. This even King Solomon, the wisest man saw it and wrote, “A wise son brings joy to his father, but a foolish son brings grief to his mother.” ~ Proverbs 10:1. So I do not want to suffer ridicule, I would rather invest time in raising up these little men and woman so I am satisfied in my old age.

That aside, I would really want to be a part of every detail of their lives. I would want to be there when they wake up in the morning so I help them say their morning prayers. I would like to be there each day as they choose what to wear. I would love to be the one making their breakfast each morning. I would want to be the one chauffeuring them to and fro school every morning and afternoon. I would love to be the one to serve them their evening snack when they get back from school. I would love to be a part of their home work sessions. I want to be the one they ask when stuck with numeracy, literacy et cetera. I just want to be there for them all the time.

I would happily take on the full-time job as their nurse; the one who is up and about at the slight change of their body temperature. I want to be the one to notice when they are developing a cough or a cold. I want to be the one they run to first when a bug bites their hand, when they hit their pretty toes on a stone… I just want to be the one they run to all the time.

I want to be the one to listen to stories about their day, stories about their BFFs, their new teachers, etc. I want to be the one they tell about their accomplishments at school, at home with a chore, I just want to be the one they tell about the girlfriends/boyfriend when the time comes. I would love to be the one they ask counsel from. I would love to be the one they call when they are stuck somewhere and need a prayer sent out for them. I just want to be their best friend, and this I can only achieve if I am their full-time mother. So help me God.

Ps. This post is unedited, I just poured out this as it flowed out of my heart.

13731834_1644894125825518_2778236479843739390_o

Mother, sons and daughter

6 thoughts on “Motherhood, a Job I would do any day

  1. growing up, i wondered why the scripture was so, i have even never come to understand it deep till this day. Reading this makes me want to interview you because i have just added another fear to my growing up. Now i do worry about the children i will raise yet i dont want to worry

Leave a Reply

